GCSP Requirements

The Grand Challenge Scholars Program (GCSP) has five components that students must pursue in order to be well-prepared to tackle the Grand Challenges upon graduation. Students must participate in each of the five pillars, however, their involvement in each component can vary. It is required for students to have in-depth, immersive engagement in at least two of the five components, and medium level engagement in at least two of the five components. The last component may be pursued at a minimum depth. Levels of immersion will be described individually for each component. Overlap amongst the components is valid and recommended to get the most out of the program.


The five components of the GCSP are:

  1. Project or research activity engaging a Grand Challenge theme or category. The research component is required to be an in-depth engagement.
  2. Interdisciplinary curriculum. The interdisciplinary curriculum component is required to be at least medium-depth engagement.
  3. Entrepreneurship
  4. Global Dimension
  5. Service Learning


Click on each component to learn more about the requirements.